Navigate / search

National Book Critics Circle Winners

The National Book Critics Circle was founded in April 1974 at the Algonquin Hotel in New York City and has over 600 members. Awards are given each March to honor the best literature published the previous year in the United States in six categories — autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. The 2016 award winners are:

Fiction: LaRose by Louise Erdrich.

Nonfiction: Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond.

Poetry: House of Lords and Commons by Ishion Hutchinson.

Criticism: White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide by Carol Anderson.

Autobiography: Lab Girl by Hope Jahren.

Biography: Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life by Ruth Franklin.

John Leonard Prize for first book: Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi.

Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award: Margaret Atwood.

Helen Freeman

     Helen Freeman is the Technical Services librarian.

Sawyer Free Library Summer Reading Program
A Summer filled with Activities and Fun!
The Sawyer Free Library is ready to help you strengthen your body and stretch your mind! Come join us!

Click on a banner below to find out more:

Adult Summer Reading Program

Adult SR banner 2016

Teen Summer Reading Program

Teen SR banner 2016

Children Summer Reading Program

Childrens SR banner 2016

October 2015: New Teen Non-Fiction